CYCI #125 Red, Gray, Black, and White

Hi, everyone!

I’m very happy to say that Eva from Can You Case It? has asked me to be a guest designer for her challenge this week! This is my very first time being a guest designer so I was super excited ! Thank you so much Eva for letting me apart of your challenge this week! I am so honored! The colors to use for the challenge were, red (my favorite), gray, black, and white.

13405108_10209031325595735_888585382_o.jpg

 

Here’s a look at how I used the colors-

CYCIkevinbray

I really love red, so I wanted that to be the main focus for this card, but still keep the overall look fairly clean and simple. I decided to test out an embossing folder that I just bought from Stampin’ Up! for the background. It worked beautifully! I love the geometric look and that there are some triangles that aren’t embossed that give it some variety and interest. I also die cut the panel with a large scalloped border die from SU. I added the red panel over my card base which already had a piece of black and white striped washi tape. This is one of the biggest trends right now! For the focal image of the card I used the lumberjack from the “Wood You Be Mine” stamp set, also from SU. I water colored his clothing using paint from Crayola (super cheap but still gives awesome results when just coloring in an image) and fussy cut him out. I used my BRAND NEW COPIC MARKERS to color his skin and beard along with the handle of the ax and boots. This was my first card using Copics and I think I am hooked for life! Anyways, I stamped the sentiment onto some white card stock using Versafine Onyx Black pigment ink to get a nice crisp impression. I trimmed the end of the banner to give it a diagonal edge. I popped up the lumberjack and sentiment strip using foam tape and that’s it for this card! Hope you enjoyed it and head on over to Can You Case It for more inspiration from their amazing design team and join in on the challenge!

 

Supplies

White card stock- Recollections

Washi tape- Target

Large Scallop Embossing Folder- Stampin’ Up!

“Wood You Be mine?”- Stampin’ Up!

Watercolor paint- Crayola

E51, E53, and E57- Copic

Onyx Black pigment ink- Versafine

 

9 thoughts on “CYCI #125 Red, Gray, Black, and White

  1. Kevin, big thanks for being our guest designer this week! I love your work! 🙂 Glad to see your branching out… Copics are huge! Thanks again for sharing your time with us! Eva @ canyoucaseit.com

    Like

  2. I love your fun and classy, card! I fell in love with that burly woodsman the moment I saw that stamp set! Thanks for being a guest with us at Can You Case It? You rocked it! –Elizabeth Jeanne (Happy Stamper)

    Like

Leave a Reply

