CASology Week 205: Chevron

Hello, everybody!! This week I am honored to be the guest designer for Week 205 over at CASology. I have been playing along with their weekly challenges for a little while now and was so excited when Melissa asked me to be a special guest! The cue card for this week is CHEVRON!!!

 

GD wk 205 - Kevin

 

I used some patterned paper to incorporate the chevron theme into my card. It was a perfect background for the Cool Cats from MFT. I cut down the paper to match the A2 sized card base and adhered it flat to the front of the card. Then I stamped and die cut the cats in a basket from the Cool Cat stamp set. I used a waterproof ink so I could watercolor the image. I wanted to keep the colors on the card limited so I used grays for the kittens and the basket. I love watercoloring in black and white, it really allows you to focus in on shading. I used red for a pop of color on the basket lining and the cat’s bow tie. I popped up the die cut cats on some foam tape on a piece of plain white card stock and stamped the sentiment below. Red paper matted the focal piece to tie in some more of the red color used on the image. This was such a fun card to create and can see myself using this design for many more projects. BIG THANKS to Melissa for allowing me to guest design over at her challenge! I hope you guys go check out CASology and play along with this week’s challenge!

 

Week 205 - Chevron.jpg

http://casology.blogspot.com/2016/07/week-205-chevron.html

Supplies Used-

White Cardstock- Recollections

BB Cool Cat- My Favorite Things

Watercolor Paper- Strathmore

Onyx Black Pigment Ink- Versafine

Chevron Paper- Michael’s

Watercolors- Prang

 

 

11 thoughts on “CASology Week 205: Chevron

  1. Your card is so wonderful. Love how your focal point is so simple and your chevrons are so very bold. Thanks so much for being our Guest Designer at CASology this week.

    Like

  2. Congrats again on your win, and for being this week’s Guest at CASology, Kevin! I love your sweet kitties and your coloring is fabulous! Love your chevron background, too! Really cute card!

    Like

  3. Simply fabulous Kevin! Love all the white space around the kittens – it highlights your great chevron background. So great to have you as our GD this week at CASology!

    Like

  4. Kevin, this card is quite adorable AND shows how you can use a busy pattern like chevron paper yet keep your card clean and simple! Great use of white space, fun images and colors! So great to have you guest designing with us this week at CASology!

    Like

Leave a Reply

