CYCI #132

Hello, everyone! There is a brand new sketch challenge up at Can you Case It? along with some brilliant cards from the other design team members! I am so lucky to be a part of such a wonderfully talented group!

13691144_10209321883539502_675563635917980538_o

I had a little more difficulty with this sketch… I made 4 or 5 “half cards” that I didn’t finish because they weren’t turning out.  So I went back to the forever reliable Crazy Birds stamp set and made this one. I really love how it ended up and finally felt satisfied using the sketch!

 

CYCI132kb

Summer is almost over so I wanted to use some bright and cheerful colors to hold on to summer as long as possible. I started by ink blending with orange and yellow inks on the left hand side to make an ombre column. I used sticky notes as a mask to make sure I got a clean and crisp line. Then I ink blended some more onto a scratch piece of paper and used an Essentials by Ellen word die to create the ombre’d “Hello” to serve as the sentiment. Next. I cut out a banner from plain white card stock and stamped some Crazy Birds all over it. I watercolored them with my Clean Color markers and popped the banner up on the card. As a finishing touch, I added some clear Wink of Stella over the word die cut and the beaks of the birds.

Now make sure you head over to CanYouCaseIt.com for more inspiration and join in on the fun!

Supplies-

White card stock- Recollections

Ombre Ink Pads- Let’s Color

Ink Blending Tool- Ranger

Brushstroke Hello- Essentials by Ellen

Crazy Birds- Tim Holtz

Onyx Black Pigment Ink- Versafine

Clean Color Real Brush Markers- Zig

Wink of Stella- Zig

3D Foam Dots- EK Success

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “CYCI #132

  1. I couldn’t help noticing your card on the CYCI blog just now. So happy you persevered, because this is such a delightful card. Love your clever use of both the sketch and your crazy birds! Also love the ombre effect.

    Like

    1. Haha thanks, Elizabeth! They are seriously the best! You definitely need them! I would buy them individually unless a set is on sale. Same price and you get to choose your own colors!!!

      Like

Leave a comment