CYCI #130

Hey, crafty friends! There is a brand new challenge over at CanYouCaseIt?! It’s a great one to play along with because there is a sketch AND a theme this week!!! Bonus fun! For my card, I used the “Happy Birthday” theme as well as incorporating the random circles from the sketch. But instead if circles, I used mushrooms! Because is a gnome card really a gnome card without a shroom or two? Or thirty?!

image.jpeg

I used the usual plain white cardstock for the base and layered on a gray panel. I initially was going to stamp the background with Versamark to give it the tone-on-tone but it wasn’t dark enough. So I used Pumice Stone Distress Ink instead and it worked perfectly. After stamping all the mushrooms, which took a while because I only have one acrylic block, I started ink blending. I used a blue and purple ink to blend a sky backdrop for the little gnome. I die cut the blended background with a stitched circle die as well as a black frame to add some contrast. I glued the frame to the circle and then onto the card. Next, I stamped and watercolored the star of show- the gnome! I love the colors on him! The cool colors mixed with gray might be my new go-to colors. I did some really simple watercoloring with my Zigs and a water brush and colored in his skin with a trio of Copics. Sadly, I don’t own the matching dies so I fussy cut him out and popped him up with some foam dots. For the sentiment, I knew I wanted to use a birthday greeting. I only have a couple “Happy Birthday”s and they didn’t work. So I made my own with my label maker. I used black to tie it in with the black frame. This was such a fun card to put together!! Hope you all get a chance to play along with CYCI? this week! Here is a link to the challenge and a supply list!

 

imageimage

http://canyoucaseit.com

Supplies:

White Card Stock- Recollections

Gray Cardstock- Target

Stitched Circles Die Set- Scrapping Cottage

No Truffle At All- Poppy Stamps

BB You Gnome Me- MFT

Faded Jeans Distress Ink- Ranger

Purple Pigment Ink- Let’s Color

Pumice Stone Distress Ink- Ranger

Onyx Black Distress Ink- Versafine

Clran Color Real Brush Markers- Zig

Earth Tone Markers- Copic

3D Foam Mounting Tape- Scotch

Label Maker- Dymo

Leave a comment